Living in the Present Moment!

Published July 22, 2012 by Natalie D. Sparrow

Just the other day I was watching my children and their little friends play in my front yard. I lost track of time, as they playfully laughed and screamed. They were a very diverse group, all types of ethnicities or chocolate, as I like to call it. Anyway, everything from white chocolate to dark chocolate kids were playing in the front. It wasn’t just diverse because of the different ethnicities, but there was also a deaf girl and another special needs child all anxiously playing together.

What caught my attention is that none of them noticed any of their differences; they all truly enjoyed each other’s company. The deaf girl seemed to not even realize her disadvantage, and found a way to be involved in all of their games. Communication was not even a barrier for them; it seemed as if they all understood each other on a more profound level. Their laughter filled my ears, and ignited me with burst of nostalgia for my childhood years. After much contemplation, I began to play tag with them as well.

Ok, so I confess for a moment I totally forgot that I was way older than them. They made me feel as if I was a part of them, no age difference at all. It was easy to lose track of time in the midst of such a joyous crowd. It truly made me get a glimpse of what it really feels like to live in the present moment.

Even more perplexing, was one of my conversations with my son. As I caught my breath I stopped to talk to him for a few minutes. Somewhere in there I asked what he wanted to do the next day and if he wanted to play outside tomorrow. Without hesitating, his immediate response was, “I don’t know.” After dealing with many children, I knew that I probably would get the same response if I asked him what he did yesterday. Of course I knew that he had spent the previous day with my mother, but in my surreal moment of inspiration I wanted confirmation. Sure enough, his response to what he did the previous day again was, “I don’t know.” His only preoccupation was that very moment, nothing else mattered.

I must say that I don’t really consider myself very religious but I believe this is what many religious philosophers and poets mean when they express the importance of living in the present moment. Then I wondered even further; Can this also be what the well-known verse refers to in the quote, “except you become as little children, you shall not enter the kingdom of heaven?” I’m not exactly sure if there is any correlation there but I know that day was like heaven on earth for me!

Positive vibes to all! NS

6 comments on “Living in the Present Moment!

  • Love this post. It’s so hard for us parents to live in the present when we have so much on our plates taking care of our families. So congrats to you for getting out there and being a kid! And yes, I agree with you regarding the bible quote–I believe it has great meaning for living in the present moment & experiencing “Heaven on Earth”. We have much to learn from our children 🙂

  • An echo of my thoughts 🙂
    nice..
    the present is indeed full of possibilities and life.
    every second is a new beginning.
    people sometimes fail to see its power…

  • Leave a Reply

